Building upon UMSATS’ years of success and experience building satellites expanded in 2018 with the formation of a rocketry division.  

The Rocketry Team designs and builds sounding rockets which are launched in New Mexico every summer for the Spaceport America Cup.

We are currently in the recruitment stage.

Click here to find out how you can join!

Join

 

2019 Spaceport America Cup

UMRT (University of Manitoba Rocket Team) is UMSATS’ newest endeavor, with 2018-2019 marking our first year designing and launching a sounding rocket and scientific payload at the Spaceport America Cup competition. This international competition provides a chance for students to launch their rockets and conduct their experimental mission. UMRT gives students the opportunity to have hands-on experience with cutting-edge space travel technologies.

Photo Gallery

Subsystems

Propulsion

The propulsion system is responsible for providing the impulse necessary to reach the intended height to deploy our payload by carefully selecting the appropriate propellant for the mission through thermodynamic calculations. Other activities include nozzle development and static testing as well as research and development.

Avionics

The avionics system is responsible for gathering telemetry data and controlling staging events during the course of flight such as ignition, parachute deployment, or payload activation.  

Airframe

The airframe is the structure that houses all of the subsystems, providing aerodynamic stability as well as protection for components subjected to other forces

Recovery

The recovery system is responsible for safely landing the rocket back on the ground by deploying a multi-parachute system at precisely the right moments during its descent.

Payload

The payload team develops meaningful scientific experiments that can be incorporated into our sounding rocket, involving collaboration across various disciplines as necessary.

Meet the team

Project Manager

Zack Louttit / zack.louttit@umsats.ca

Airframe Lead

Sean Koenig / sean.koenig@umsats.ca

Avionics Lead

Ian Anderson / ian.anderson@umsats.ca

Payload Co-Lead

Taylor Stevens / taylor.stevens@umsats.ca

Payload Co-Lead

Tavleen Kainth / tavleen.kainth@umsats.ca

Propulsion Co-Lead

Aj Loredo / Aj.Loredo@umsats.ca

Propulsion Co-Lead

Amol Sidhu / amol@umsats.ca

Recovery Co-Lead

Matthew Nutbean / matthew.nutbean@umsats.ca

Recovery Co-Lead

Spencer Ryznar / spencer.ryznar@umsats.ca

Mission Operations and Logistics

Jayden Matthews / Jayden.Matthews@umsats.ca